Best practice for developing an alternate UI for Sharepoint interaction [Resolved]

Feb 28, 2010 at 8:26 AM

Best practice may be a little too early since these techniques you all are developing are just now really coming into their own for Sharepoint. And I am new to SharePoint and looking to absorb good info early on. And then I stumbled upon jPoint.

Basically I am used to working in the MVC mindset. Sharepoint blends alot of that together to make things easier for the end user and it makes sense. But coming up with custom layouts become more challenging. It looks easier to me, for example, to use jPoint to pull list data and just build a list instead of using a List webpart dropped on a page. Would that be advisable? It's not very "SharePoint-ish" I know but it's essentially how I do it elsewhere.

Another example is saving data to multiple lists. I haven't found the simplest way to really customize the display of multiple related lists in SharePoint yet, not to mention saving data BACK to those related lists. Say you have a list of options for a product for a user. The number of options can change and the values needed to be saved are saved per user/per option. But you also have other *sets* of options similar to that for this user and the design spec says they need to show at the same time and be saved in one go. I can see how to do it with jPoint (love that bulk save by the way) by updating the related lists checking for errors along the way. jPoint doesn't have happen to have a way of doing these kinds of transactions does it? :)

What it seems you have done with jPoint is allowed any front end to easily integrate with SharePoint. Is that desirable from an experienced SharePoint developer view? Mind you, the things I am building for this site don't need to be visually tied to the site components for lists, etc. The master layout will be retained.

Let me know if my questions make sense.

Thanks! 

Coordinator
Mar 1, 2010 at 3:25 PM

Hi Michael,