Query SP Lists, Display Item and Edit

Feb 2, 2011 at 2:41 AM

Gents,

Can't really express how exciting it was to come across the site.  I'm new to SharePoint, new to developing and some of the code I am finding is still a little confusing.  Some of the examples seem like really great tools.  I have a specific issue I want to resolve and not sure how to use some of the tools.  Native Search function in SharePoint doesn't always return the prettiest result.  I am looking to Query an SP list, return a select group of field as a preview and allow the user to select the item and be directed to the disp.aspx page so they can view all the fields or edit if necessary. 

Thank you in advance for your response and this great resource.....

jb

Coordinator
Feb 4, 2011 at 12:45 AM
Edited Feb 4, 2011 at 2:55 PM
jman2904,
You should look at the examples on the sharejPoint.com website, http://www.sharejpoint.com/examples/src/jPListInspector.aspx. Username: demouser, password: sharejPoint!
The jPListInspector shows you several examples of how to retrieve the items of a list. Your solution could use one of the following two examples on this page:
jPListInspector Example: filterItems to get default view
var siteurl = "http://www.sharejpoint.com/examples";
var listname = "ADemoList";
jP.Lists.setSPObject(siteurl, listname).getSPView(); 
This retrieves the items from the default view. To retrieve the fields in another view, call .getSPView([your_viewname]).
To put the results into a table, use the XML results in jP.Lists["ADEMOLIST"].xmlDoc or iterate through the items in jP.Lists["ADEMOLIST"].Items. You can create a link to the DispForm of each item simply by: var dispForm = siteurl + "/dispform.aspx?ID=" + jP.Lists.ADEMOLIST.Items[0].ID
jPListInspector Example: getItemsFieldData
var siteurl = "http://www.sharejpoint.com/examples";
var listname = "ADemoList";
var fieldarray = ["LinkTitle","Status"]; /*array of field names that you want to appear in your table*/